Skip to content

Nxesi appoints members of second National Minimum Wage Commission

# Employment and Labour minister Thulas Nxesi has announced the appointment of the second National Minimum Wage Commission. The new commission will be chaired by Wits economist Imraan Valodia, who succeeds Adriaan van der Walt. The members of the commission will serve for a period of five years. The functions include reviewing the national minimum wage and making recommendations for its adjustment. The commission is also responsible for investigating and reporting on the impact of the wage on the economy and collective bargaining.