Skip to content

Burkina Faso, Mali, and Niger reject one-year exit period from ECOWAS

# Burkina Faso, Mali and Niger have refused to adhere to a one-year exit period from the Economic Community of West African States. This decision follows their formal notification of withdrawal from the bloc ten days prior. While ECOWAS treaty Article 91 stipulates a one-year obligation period post-notification, Mali argues that ECOWAS invalidated the treaty by failing to fulfill its obligations, such as closing member states’ borders with Mali in 2022, thus denying it sea access.